Lorice Say, Chair

Leo Broders, Treasurer
Aline Creed, Secretary


Elena Fennell

Leigh Harris

Kerry Hawkins
Margaret Hawkins
​John Hough

Dr. Charles Johnson

Eilleen (Missy) Jones

John McCarthy
Kathleen Meares
Mitzi Miller
Cynthia Nobles
Richard Oliver

Alethea O'Quinn
Barbara Quirk

Martha Rome

Dr. Mike Ruth
Peggy Scott
Mary Tauzin

Mary Tharp
Diana Wells

Our Leaders - Friends of the Gardens Board

The Friends of the Gardens will be a strategic partner in fulfilling the goals of the LSU AgCenter Botanic Gardens at Burden Master Plan, including developing garden collections that reflect the heritage of south Louisiana and establishing focused gardens; greenhouses; and training and support facilities that will provide a complete horticultural education experience for the general public.  


In concert with the Burden Museum and Gardens Master Plan, the mission of FOG is to enhance and promote the LSU AgCenter Botanic Gardens at Burden and its serene environment for the benefit of the public through educational programs, fundraising, and volunteerism.​

Friends of the Gardens Mission & Vision

The Friends of the Gardens (FOG) is a non-profit organization of people interested in participating in and supporting LSU AgCenter's Botanic Gardens at Burden, located at 4560 Essen Lane in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The purpose of FOG is education, fund raising, and assisting in the promotion and development of the Botanic Gardens.

Our educational programs include Project Learning Tree and monthly lectures; our promotional activities include art and music events, Arbor day, Corn Maze, and Wine and Roses.  The gardens and Trees and Trails are open to the public year round.

Who are we?

Dr. Jeff Kuehny, Ex-Officio Director
Len Kilgore, Liaison to Burden Foundation
Wade Baumgartner, Liaison to LSU AgCenter

Advisory Committee:
Connie Abboud
Leslie Bardwell
Annette Barton
Margaret Blades
Ginnie Bolin

Ken Bosso

Kitty Bull
Sherry Eubanks

Judy Foil
Mary Jane Howell

Simone Kramer
Kay Martin

Dr. Doreen Maxcy
Penny Miller
Frances Monroe
John Monroe
Cary Saurage

Kathryn Hessburg Wiemer